All of These Projects at Once

I have a few words to share with you, blogosphere, that my knitter followers as well as my circus followers will sympathize with.  I am injured.  A little over a week ago, I was working on the cyr wheel.  Everything was going great- I was internalizing my struggle and really catching on to the weird physics that exists within the wheel.  I eventually stopped practicing because my stomach couldn’t quite handle the sheer amount of spinning involved.  The next morning, my shoulder was in excruciating pain.  It was so bad, I couldn’t put my coat on, I couldn’t hold my purse over my shoulder, I couldn’t even pour a cup of coffee.  A week later, it still hurt, so I went to see a physical therapist for a consultation.  Basically, between training almost daily in my circus stuff, trying to knit a massive sweater in a month, and the projects I had going on at work, I have a repetitive use injury – an inflamed rotator tendon.

image

So, my knitting/crocheting holiday gifts are slow going.  I actually cut out a lot of the gifts and reduced the size of others.  Ellette’s gift (pictured above) is the hardest for me to work on because it is a tiny and tight gauge and 100% cotton which has absolutely no give.

image

These are other (secret) projects that have so far been less stressful on my shoulder.  The above is at a somewhat looser gauge and was simple crochet, which was easy to work on.  Below, I blocked some stuff that had been sitting in my finishing bag for a couple months.  The finishing bag is filled with completed projects that need ends woven in and blocking, and tends to be done in chunks rather than as projects actually get finished.

image

And then I blocked Esjan, which had been sitting in that finishing bag since it’s completion in October.  I’m entirely in love with the colors!  It was completely dry this morning so I unpinned it and folded it up so my cats couldn’t get to it, and tonight I hope to weave in the ends.

image

I am sorry that things won’t be completed quickly and the parade of finished things I was looking forward to will not be happening.  I am also sorry that I won’t have any awesome circus photos to share over the rest of the month, since all flying activity is mostly suspended until I heal.  Here’s to a speedy recovery!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Catch | Little Green Pixie

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

