Hate Is Such A Strong Word

I *dislike* the yarn I used for this scarf.  When I was knitting, it felt processed and oily, but I thought that would wash out when I soaked it for blocking.  The yarn is Newton Yarn Company’s Pencil Roving.

image

While I was knitting, the yarn dye rubbed off on my hands.  I have worked with yarn that wasn’t stellar, but the magic happened in the blocking.  So, I maintained faith that it would work out in the end.

I soaked it for a week, changing out the water every couple of hours, letting it soak over night, adding a mild soap to break down the oils and remove the weird smell (like walking into a basement – not musty or moldy, just moth ball-esque).  Finally, worried that I was going to felt the scarf if I putzed with it too much longer, I pinned it in place.

image

The smell hasn’t left, and the coarseness of the yarn only feels worse, like it’s a wet acrylic instead of a natural wool.  Maybe it will be better once it is completely dry, or after it has been worn a bit.  Right now, the thought of wrapping this thing around my neck makes my neck itch uncontrollably.

The only saving grace is that that the butterfly image pops beautifully and the lace is clear.

Have you ever worked with a yarn that you ended up disliking?  Did you finish the project?  Do you have any suggestions for getting rid of the smell or coarseness of the yarn?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. themadknittershop
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 18:01:27

    The one time that I did finish a project with yarn I disliked I ended up giving it away to someone who didn’t really recognize the issue. I did use a yarn that turned my wood needles purple while I knitted up a shawl. They are still purple and I really soaked the heck out of the finished shawl in an attempt to keep my clothes from turning purple. It kindof worked.

    Reply

  2. Rhowenknits
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 18:39:38

    It is a pretty scarf. I have had “lanolin” suggested to remove coarseness, using it as a soak/wash. I did not actually try it though, I abandoned the project. Smells are tough. Do you think it would be worth contacting the company? I admire your knitting passion. I am in the dreaded knitting lulls right now…can’t get fired up about it at all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

