Somewhere Over the Rainbow

Last night, after my lyra class and the long commute home, with a friend chatting away on the couch and my muscles sore as can be, I had the strongest urge to knit – just pick up a project and knit.  But it wasn’t like I could pick up just any project, because there was some intense need for the project, which was, at that point, unknown.  I spent a while pulling out my project bags, peeking inside, spreading them out and showing them off, and then quietly stuffing them into the bag again, because for some reason they didn’t seem to satisfy the need.

This has happened before, usually those rare moments when I’m struck with an odd sense of boredom, and I spend some time roaming around looking for something to do that satisfies the intense need for a specific type of productivity.  Sometimes it’s cleaning, sometimes it’s walking and last night it was a specific kind of fiber project.

And then I landed on it.  Yesterday was the first day it was really above freezing in a long time.  The sun was shining and you could hear the pitter patter of melting icicles throughout the neighborhood.  Everything felt like it was waking up, and I couldn’t find the project that reflected what I was feeling, until I pulled out the Follow Your Arrow that I had made when the sense of winter gloom was looming overhead.

image

I ended up staying up too late working on it, and I’m eager to get back to it tonight.  This colorway inspires me to be cheerful and bright.

Back then, I had named the project “Over the Rainbow” – and seems to have been entirely appropriate.  I’ve got my rainbow.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Minxy
    Feb 20, 2014 @ 02:34:14

    That’s so beautiful, the sky and the rainbow! I just finished mine, it’s been a fab project.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

